Deciding on a fitness program to follow?

Fitness programs and challenges have been on the rise for the past few years. With the boom of fitness celebrities such as Kayla Itsines and Emily Skye; being apart of an inspiring community working together with a common goal is just the start. With so many programs and challenges available, it can be hard to decide which program to actually follow! What are the benefits? How effective will it be? Which is best for me? What support is available? With so many questions to think of before choosing, we have hand selected a number of programs to review what’s involved and obtained feedback from those who have experienced the program first hand!

Bondi Vixen Zone 21 Challenge (Sydney):

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 8.26.08 PM

Image Owner: bondivixen.com

Vix Erber is the driving force behind Bondi Vixen, launching Bondi Vixen to empower women and help them achieve their dream bikini body! The Zone 21 Challenge focuses on 3 significant areas: (1) intense functional training workouts; (2) a specialized ‘SHRED Plan’ and (3) a variety of personal support tools including goal setting, mindset work, technique workshop and fitness assessments and tracking. Some key features of the program include a pre-challenge seminar, access to unlimited classes, mindset overhaul, fitness assessments and private group support!

User Feedback: This Bondi Vixen completed the program in early 2017, absolutely loved it and continued on as a member!

  1. What made you select this particular program? Outdoor training on Bondi Beach! There was a strong focus on women, plus it was close to where I live
  2. On a scale of 1-10, did the program meet your expectations? 9/10 – it was really enjoyable, I was committed and motivated throughout and I got great results
  3. Would you recommend this program to others? Definitely! Vix is a great trainer, really enthusiastic and motivating. She has created a wonderful community of women who support each other. You become really close because you see each other everyday at training
  4. Would you consider doing another program or challenge like this? Definitely. I love going as a regular member but I think the challenges are a great way to up the anti every so often, maybe leading into summer or in preparation for a big event

 

Kayla Itsines Bikini Body 12 Week Challenge (Online):

Screen Shot 2017-07-17 at 8.40.42 PM

Image Owner: kaylaitsines.com

She has become synonymous with fitness. Kayla Itsine’s online fitness program is one of the most successful programs in the world. It was developed off the back of Kayla constantly hearing women complain about three key areas: “I hate my inner thighs, I want toned arms and I just want a flat-stomach and nice abs”. So what does the program include? The 12 week Bikini Body Challenge covers a series of workouts focusing on those core three areas. The program involves a number of circuit workouts each day as well as eating plans and help guides.

 User feedback: This BBG member absolutely loved the program and felt healthier and stronger once done.

  1. What made you select this particular program? I was looking for a program I could do from home as I didn’t want to sign up to the gym, and wanted something prescriptive. The plan I bought also came with a meal guide.
  2. What happen after the program was over? Where you able to maintain those changes and results? I was happy with the progress I was making so I did the program a couple more times. After the second time, I got a buddy to do it with me as it was getting quite repetitive and I wanted some support to keep me going. I maintained the results for a bit, but then things started slowing down (and eventually stopped!
  3. Would you recommend this program to others? I would, yes. However, I would suggest that people with knee/joint issues exercise caution because there are a lot of exercises that might be a bit of a strain.
  4. Would you consider doing another program or challenge like this? I would, yes. I thought the program was helpful in getting me back into shape, and I continue to reference it for regular exercises even thought I’m not strictly sticking to the regimen.

Base Body Babes 12-Week Training Program (Sydney & Online)

1491199071344

Image Owner: basebodybabes.com

Run by two personal training sisters, Base Body Babes goal is to “educate women on how to workout, eat healthily, get in shape and maintain it for life”. After trialing and testing different training programs and food types, the sisters have a developed their own face-to-face and online programs based on a combination of strength and circuit style resistance testing. The programs include access to group training (or training tutorials), a recommended nutrition plan with shopping list and recipe ideas and regular check-ins.

User feedback: This base completed the BBB 12 week training cycle at Base Body Studio in Kensington.

  1. What made you select this particular program? I’ve been following the Base Body Babes on Instagram for ages and they are huge fitness inspirations and body goals to me! When I heard they were opening a women’s only training facility around the corner, I jumped at the opportunity to be trained by these strong and inspiring women.
  2. What did you enjoy most about this program? Learning to lift properly. For women especially, it can be pretty intimidating to try to lift in a regular gym when you’re first starting out – and not only that, but learn how lift with the right form. BBB Studio helped me to develop my lifting technique in controlled and safe environment.
  3. What happen after the program was over? Where you able to maintain those changes and results? The whole concept of the 12 week program is designed to be sustainable over a long term basis. I’ve made some small but significant changes to my diet and fitness regime that I have continued to carry out well after the program was up!
  4. 4. Would you consider doing another program or challenge like this? I would hands down do it again! The program is something that you can maintain over time and there’s always room to improve by increasing weights and building upon your strength. The workout formats change at least every four weeks so you’re not stuck doing the same thing over and over again.

28 by Sam Wood (Online)

We all first met Sam Wood when he graced our TV screen as the Bachelor in 2015! Since then Sam has developed the 28 program, designed to get you results fast with just 28 minutes a day! When on the 28 program, you will receive access to daily workouts, meal plans, mindfulness techniques, expert advice as well as support from the 28-program community. You receive a new 28-minute workout video every day and 3 simple and delicious meal plans for each day, created by an expert Nutritionist.

User feedback: Sarah Cavalier from MamaMag met Sam through her very own Mum magazine and had previously trained with him prior to him becoming the Bachelor!

  1. What did you enjoy most about this program? The flexibility it allows me. Being
    SarahCavalier_28

    Image Owner: Sarah Cavalier

    a single mum I firstly don’t have the liberty of exercising in a gym as I have no one to look after the kids outside school hours and I work full time. I can complete my 28 minute workout (which changes every day) in my living room before the kids have even gotten out of bed. Weekends are active recovery sessions where you choose your own 28 minutes of exercise. I usually run, but they have some amazing yoga and pilates sessions online you can do as well. Secondly the meal plans. The food is amazing and having no other adults to cook for I was finding my meals were becoming so boring and bland to please the kids. Now I am experimenting with amazing healthy new ingredients and dishes I would never dreamed of trying, but they are easy and tasty and are simply turning me into a fat burning machine! The program also offers mindfulness and meditation sessions, motivational videos and an amazingly supportive Facebook group that can always be relied on to lift your mood or answer a question. Sam is really active in the group and always answers your questions personally so you feel like he always has your back, which he does.

  2. Would you consider doing another program like this? No, I wouldn’t stop doing this one! You hear it in the Facebook Group all the time, “28’er for life”. But to be perfectly honest, I don’t follow the program to a tee anymore, I don’t need to. The eating habits I’ve adapted from Sam’s program have ensured I haven’t put any weight back on when I’ve been a bit slack, so if I miss a few workouts or had a few cheeky meals or nights out I’m still ok.

Fit Healthy Mums (Online)

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 7.50.31 PM

Image Owner: Dallas Olsen

Fit Healthy Mums is a health and fitness program developed by personal trainer Justine Switalla. Justine’s philosophy begins from within! It starts with “what you think you are” and so Justine has developed a program to help guide you on the right path and ensure you have the self-belief to achieve whatever you set your mind too! Fit Healthy Mums is an 8 week program designed to provide a sustainable training and nutrition plan that will look after you for the long term! The program includes nutritious meal plans that are super easy to follow and easy to follow workout routines that have been designed with a ‘busy mum’ in mind.

User feedback: The Fit Healthy Mums program exceeded Kirsty’s expectations!

  1. What program did you complete? I have completed a number of Justine’s online programs. I did the post pregnancy program after having my first son and then the pregnancy training and nutrition program whilst pregnant with my second son. I am about to start my fourth round of Justine’s Mind and Body Overhaul Program, which is her intensive online program.
  2. What made you select this particular program? All of Justine’s online programs really are suitable for the busy Mum. Her meals are delicious and family friendly and her training plans are realistic and achievable. What attracted me to Justine’s programs initially is that I could tell from following her on Facebook that she has a very genuine interest in helping women to achieve their specific goals. She is always available to offer guidance and support her clients – you are not just another number.
  3. What did you enjoy most about this program? Primarily the support that I have received from Justine.  She has always been there to answer questions, help me set goals and keep me accountable which has been an integral part of me staying on track. I also love the education that you receive with the program- I have learned so much about nutrition, training and mindset that I will have with me forever.

According to Nutritionist Amanda Dinte from The Kitchen Cleanse, when it comes to finding the right type of exercise, there is no such thing as ‘one size fits all’. The best type of exercise is one that: a) you enjoy b) you get good results from, and c) you are willing to participate in on a regular basis. You might come across the best exercise class in the world, but if it’s not sustainable, it’s of no use to you! The same goes for your diet – while there is a multitude of research out there on every type of diet imaginable, there is still no particular way of eating that has been proven overall to be better than any other. Whether you change your eating habits to coincide with paleo, low-carb, high-carb, ketogenic etc. you will easily achieve weight loss. Losing weight isn’t the tricky part – it’s keeping it off that we all have trouble with. So again, the best diet is the one you can maintain. Find a way of eating that gives you enough fuel to get you through the day, keeps your energy levels stable and cravings at bay, leaves you feeling satisfied both physically and emotionally, and, most importantly, provides you with the right amount of nutrients that your body needs! If your diet ticks all of those boxes, then you’ve found the right one for you.

Regardless of which health or fitness program you choose, or which new diet or exercise regime you decide to take on, it is important to take the time to find one that you can maintain to ensure you’ll achieve long term results!

WellActive is an online marketplace connecting you with amazing health and fitness Coaches. Taking control of your health and achieving your wellness and fitness goals as never been easier! Visit www.wellactiveapp.com.au to connect with Coaches today. 

Leave a comment